New Blog!

Blog Picture

It’s like cutting the red tape here.  Alright here’s the throw down, the gist, the theory of the blog.  Unlike my last blog, this blog is an attempt to engage in more than just theological discussion and to engage with specific events, statements, and “discoveries” claimed by any and all that I deem worthy, from a biblical worldview.  Sure sure, it’s been done you might say, and indeed it has.  That said, for those who personally read my notes, I would like to make an honest attempt to be helpful in these matters.  Clearly I am not expert in any field and so I would welcome any criticism or disagreement that fits the bill of civil and constructive discussion.

The primary reason I have decided to move this away from facebook is because I feel I have the ability to be more diverse and technical here.  Since my hope is to engage in discussion, post audio/video, and pictures I felt this was the best medium.  I moved from blogger solely because I believe WordPress provides more functions, and is just prettier.

Two explanations are in order:

1)The Title: I hold no pretenses of being a “Reformed Mind,” as if to mean mine is more so than others, it’s more general than specific.  By no means have I attained some level of spiritual high ground.  Lord forbid I ever think so.  The Lord Christ has enacted a great work in my heart and in my mind (Ez 36:26, Rom 12:1), turning me from the sin I once loved and enabling me to embrace a God I once hated.  The Reformed theology I hold to I believe to be biblically grounded, and able to give me sufficient base to answer the subjects I will deal with on this site.

2)The Picture: Well my roommate (at the time) created it.  I think the idea was to have a city to symbolize the “Unreformed World”, and the sun in the background to symbolize the “Reformed Mind”  ??  We’ll see how it goes.  But it does bring to mind a C.S. Lewis quote: “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” And to that I say Amen.

This blog will consist of whatever I can find.  Dealing with anything from culturally relevant topics (homosexuality, abortion, church and state, etc.) to “science” (ID, evolution, etc.) to theology (Reformed, Calvinistic, Protestant, etc.).  Also I hope to do more book reviews when classes ease up a bit.  Hopefully my skill at this WordPress stuff will increase.  You also may see some posts by my roommate Jonathan Mounts from time to time, or other guest writers (if I can call them that).

So thanks for stopping by and hope you’ll visit the site….but if not, God Bless.

In Christ,

Jon

~ by TSL on November 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “New Blog!”

  1. I’m officially following your blog :) Love hearing from you!

Comments are closed.

 
