Open Question for the Anti-Trinitarian

Umm..sure?

I could sit here and put up numerous verses that refer to the Trinity, and the anti-Trinity crowd would probably give me a face full of Greek lessons regarding how erroneously I am interpreting the texts for each of those verses.  So instead of starting an endless thread, I have to ask:

How do you reconcile the following?

1) The statements of God in Exodus 20:3-5

You shall have no other gods before me. You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.  You shall not bow down to them or serve them, for I the Lord your God am a jealous God…” (esv, emphasis added)

Or more specifically, Isaiah 48:11

“For my own sake, for my own sake, I do it, for how should my name be profaned? My glory I will not give to another.” (esv, emphasis added)

2) With the statements of Christ and His apostles in the NT?

Exhibit 1: “And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed. -John17:5 (Whoa, whoa! Either one of two things is happening here. 1) Either Jesus is in fact being blasphemous as the Jews accused him, for saying He has an equal glory…or 2) God lied when he said he wouldn’t share it with another (cf. Isa48:11) . Which is it?)

Exhibit 2: “To them belong the patriarchs, and from their race, according to the flesh, is the Christ, who is God over all, blessed forever. Amen.” -Rom9:5 (Who is God, blessed forever?)

Exhibit 3: “…the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.” -2Cor4:4 (Image? Glory of Christ directly?)

Exhibit 4: “Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.” -Phil2:5-7  (I actually just want to know what this verse could possibly even mean? The tell me how He is in the form of God?)

Exhibit 5: “Now may the God of peace who brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great shepherd of the sheep, by the blood of the eternal covenant,  equip you with everything good that you may do his will, working in us that which is pleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen.” -Heb13:20-21 (to whom is the “to whom” referring to? And why not say that about God the Father since there is such an immediate relation in this verse?)

Exhibit 6: “My brothers, show no partiality as you hold the faith in our Lord Jesus Christ, the Lord of glory.” -James 2:1

Exhibit 7: “But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” -2Peter3:18  (To him? Not God the Father?)

Are there others? Of course. But this will suffice for this short post.

I will be making a few more posts about anti-Trinitarianism in the future.

SDG

~ by TSL on February 24, 2012.

 
